The building that served as a store and a home for the Léonard Family is considered a local historic site given its commercial and residential purpose and its unique architecture.
Samuel Léonard and Obéline Séquin were married on September 11, 1882. Two years later, they purchased Michael Boyer’s farm. Only the land in front of the house and the small stable were cleared at the time. Samuel worked hard at clearing the trees from the rest of the property but died tragically at the age of 37 leaving behind five children.
When her only son William was twelve years old, Obéline felt he was old enough to cultivate the land on his father’s farm. Obéline was a true pioneer; she worked in the fields, the butcher shop and never hired anyone except when very heavy work was required. In March 1909, she had this magnificent red brick house built and expanded the barn. In 1912, she sold the farm to her son William.